You are here:Home-Sport & Fitness-Middle East Men’s Football Team of the Year: Forwards & Subs
Home / Sport & Fitness / Middle East Men’s Football Team of the Year: Forwards & Subs
Sport & Fitness

Middle East Men’s Football Team of the Year: Forwards & Subs

February 21, 2023

As we countdown to the final round of the Middle East League at the Dubai Sevens Stadium next week, we take a look at the top 24 players in the Middle East and select the (current!) What’s The Craic DubEye Middle East Football Team of the Year.

Next up, we have the forwards and the bench:

10 – Danny Neville (Al Reem Shamrocks)

The half-forward position is stacked in the Middle East. Last year’s Middle East Player of the Year Shane Killoran is in contention, but his form of late has made him unrecognizable from 2022. Limerick’s Mike Fitzgibbon has been a solid performer this campaign, but it’s another Limerick man who takes the number 10 slot. Neville has been in flying form this season with his pace, power and score-taking ability. There’s also the added bonus that he has the voice of an angel – see

11 – Jack Savage (Jumeirah Gaels)

After winning the All-Ireland with Kerry, Savage has blown hot and cold since joining Jumeirah Gaels this season. He was central to Kerins O’Rahilly’s run to the All-Ireland semi-final, but with that behind him we expect to see him at his consistent best in the latter stages of the championship.

12 – Conor Carthy (Sharjah Gaels)

Speaking of blowing hot and cold, Sharjah Gaels are the masters at it. They’ve spent the season yo-yo-ing from competing at the top and bottom of the table. Niall Rooney and Carthy have been the stand-outs for Sharjah, but we give the Louth man the nod for that classy score against Jumeirah Gaels in round two.

13 – Ciaran Tracey (Abu Dhabi Na Fianna)

Eamonn ‘The Flying Column’ O’Colm clinched the winning score for Jumeirah Gaels in round two and deserves consideration here, but Ciaran Tracey gets the nod this time. Four years on from his iconic goal against Kerry in the league final, the Mayo man is still doing what he does best – kicking scores.

14 – Alan Freeman (Dubai Celts)

There are plenty of options for the edge of the square, with big Senan Kilbride and Paul O’Donoghue coming in for consideration. We’ve gone with experience though in a man that’s started an All-Ireland Final. It’s been a while since the Aghamore led the line for Mayo in 2013, but so far, he’s kept father time at bay.

15 – Jordan Kiely (Abu Dhabi Na Fianna)

The final spot on the starting fifteen came down to two Kerry men, Dean Cassidy and Jordan Kiely. However, there’s only so far Cassidy’s abs will get him and Kiely gets the nod for the Maurice Fitzgerald-esque sideline in round two.


  1. Evan Duffy
  2. Liam Mulligan
  3. Phillip Butler
  4. David Foran
  5. Mike Fitzgibbon
  6. Niall Rooney
  7. Eamonn O’Colm
  8. Senan Kilbride
  9. Paul O’Donoghue